Gold Award Winners Announced


TORONTO — The Ontario Hostelry Institute has presented Gold Awards annually for the past 23 years to people making a difference in Canada’s dynamic hospitality industry, and a jury comprised of past Gold Award winners recently selected this year’s crop of stars at the Four Seasons Toronto.

Among the luminaries chosen are: Cora Tsflidou of Cora Restaurants for Chain Operator; Tony Cohen of Global Edge Investments for Hotelier; Frederic Giesweiller of Le Select for Independent Restaurateur; Stephen Treadwell of Stephen Treadwell Farm-to-Table Cuisine for Chef; Julia Christensen Hughes of University of Guelph for Educator; Jody Dunn, of Food & Drink magazine for Media/Publishing; Hicks Morley for Supplier of the Year;  and Stephanie Purdy of Purdy’s Fisheries Limited in the new Artisan of the Year category.

At the March dinner, Charles Grieco, OHI chair, will also give the Chairman’s Lifetime Achievement Gold Award to John Walker of George Brown College and the Chairman’s OHI Gold Award to Anita Stewart, a food writer and activist who recently won the Order of Canada.  

The Gold Awards, which are typically presented in April, will be presented during a Black Tie dinner March 22 at the Four Seasons Hotel, where they will be emceed by Anne Yarymovich and Michael Bonacini.

For further event details, visit  

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.