Plans for New Beer Store Board Brewing



TORONTO — A new Beer Store Board of Directors, which will reflect Beer Store ownership that is now available to all qualifying Ontario-based brewers, is in the works.

The new 15-member Beer Store Board of Directors will be made up of four independent directors nominated by a selection committee jointly represented by the Province of Ontario and the current Beer Store owners; two directors nominated by larger brewers with Beer Store sales greater than 50,000 hectolitres per year; a director nominated by small Ontario-based brewers who sell less than 50,000 hectolitres per year through the Beer Store; four directors nominated by Molson and four nominated by Labatt.

These new directors will take their positions as of the Jan. 1, 2016. “The Beer Store and the province agree that these independent directors, and directors soon to be nominated by the new shareholders, will make a tremendous contribution to the Beer Store Board as we move forward,” said Charlie Angelakos, chair of the Board of Directors of the Beer Store. “They will help us as we deploy $100 million in capital investments over the next four years to enhance the Beer Store experience for consumers.”

The Beer Store has reached out to all qualifying Ontario-based brewers to provide information on the new Beer Store ownership opportunity and the process to become a shareholder.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.