Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Winners Announced


HALIFAX — Eight representatives of Nova Scotia’s culinary industry were put in the spotlight yesterday at The Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Awards, held at the Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia’s Tourism Summit in Halifax.

“It’s an opportunity to recognize our members in a formal way … the hard work, perseverance and dedication that these Nova Scotian companies bring to our culinary industry,” said Janice Ruddock, executive director of Taste of Nova Scotia.

“These companies face many obstacles as entrepreneurs, bringing us innovative products and authentic culinary experiences. They are focused on being the best they can be for this province, and we are fortunate they choose to call Nova Scotia home.”

Awards were presented in eight categories. The winners are as follows:

Innovative Product of the Year

Haskapa Haskap Juice, LaHave Forest Inc.

Restaurant of the Year – Chef Inspired Fine Dining

Gabrieau’s Bistro, Antigonish, N.S.

Restaurant of the Year – Chef Inspired Casual Dining

Mateus Bistro, Mahone Bay, N.S.

Restaurant of the Year – Essence of Nova Scotia

Shore Club Lobster Suppers, Hubbards, N.S.

Producer of the Year

Terra Beata Cranberry Farm, Heckman’s Island, N.S.

Server of the Year

Amber MacLean, Morris East, Halifax

Consumer Choice Product of the Year

Bliss, Avondale Sky Winery, Newport Landing, N.S.

Gary MacDonald Culinary Ambassador of the Year

Pete Luckett, Pete’s Frootique and Luckett Vineyards


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.