Top Ten Finalists for Basque Culinary World Prize Announced


SAN SEBASTIAN, Spain — The top-10 finalists for the Basque Culinary World Prize 2019 have been announced. Chefs representing 10 different countries were chosen from 150 culinarians for their impact inside and outside of the kitchen.

The winner will be chosen by an international jury on July 16 during the ninth-annual meeting of the Basque Culinary Center International Council in San Francisco. The announcement will be made during a symposium co-hosted by three-star Michelin chef Dominique Crenn.

“This fourth Basque Culinary World Prize is necessary to consolidate and continue promoting the values of excellence, commitment, quality and dedication to transformation pursued by the award,” says Bittor Oroz, Deputy Minister for Agriculture, Fishing and Food Policy with the Basque Government. “…The Basque Culinary World Prize has contributed to the Basque Country continuing to be an international benchmark for excellence in gastronomy and presenting itself as a country with an exemplary model of quality of life and social cohesion and an innovative and competitive territory.”

The jury will be chaired by chef Joan Roca (Spain) and will include these celebrated chefs:

  • Andoni Luis Aduriz (Basque Country)
  • Eneko Axta (Basque Country)
  • Massimo Bottura (Italy)
  • Katina and Kyle Connaughton (U.S.)
  • Dominique Crenn (U.S.)
  • Trine Hahnemann (Denmark)
  • Yoshihiro Narisawa (Japan)
  • Enrique Olvera (Mexico)
  • Jock Zonfrillo (Australia)

The winner will be award €100,000 to devote to a cause that will “transform society through gastronomy.”

“The list of finalists highlights the important and innovative work being done by chefs from diverse regions and in a range of highly current fields connected to gastronomy, not only as a source of inspiration but as a tangible and concrete expression of how this collective is taking action,” says Pia Sörensen, director of the Science and Cooking program of Harvard University.

The top-10 finalists include:

  • Selassie Atadika (Ghana)
  • Mario Castrellón (Panama)
  • Siew-Chinn Chin (U.S.)
  • Giovanni Cuocci (Italy)
  • Xanty Elías (Spain)
  • Cristina Martinez (U.S.)
  • Virgilio Martínez (Peru)
  • Douglas McMaster (U.K.)
  • Anthony Myint (U.S.)
  • Lars Williams (Denmark)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.