More News from CCFCC Windsor 2010


WINDSOR, Ont. — Further to last week’s report on CCFCC Windsor 2010, the 47th National Conference of the Canadian Culinary Federation award winners have been announced for the culinary events held at St. Clair College of Applied Arts and Technology, in Windsor, Ont. These events and their winners are as follows:

* The Youth Team Canada selection went to Vancouver Community College, who will represent Canada at the IKA (World Culinary Olympics) in Erfurt, Germany in 2012. The other colleges in the competition were: Culinary Institute of Canada — Holland College from P.E.I.; Nova Scotia Community College – Akerley Campus from Halifax; and Jacques-Rousseau Culinary Institute, from Montreal.

* The National Chefs Challenge competition saw Clement Chan of Vancouver emerge as the winner in a competition that included Philip Leach of Muskoka, Ont., Mark Steele of Ottawa and Todd Smith of St. John’s.

* The Junior Culinary Challenge competition winner was Steve Kuan of Vancouver, after competing with eight provincial finalists, including Matthew Parker (Ontario); Taszia Fenton (P.E.I.); Brenan Madill (N.S.); Chantel Vance (Saskatchewan); Martine Donaghy (Quebec); Tara Nicholls (Newfoundland); Joseph Rainer Cruz Regalado (Manitoba); and Colleen Erker (Alberta).

* While not a cooking competition, the Chef of the Year recognition for outstanding contributions to the CCFCC was awarded to John-Carlo Felicella of Vancouver. The other regional finalists considered were: Allan Williams of Charlottetown, Luc Boissy of Montreal and Roary Golden of Muskoka.

A significant gender milestone was also established at the Windsor CCFCC event, with a unanimous vote in favour of a new CCFCC bylaw to establish a Women in CCFCC committee, mirroring a Women in WACS initiative, launched by the World Association of Chefs Societies last year at its conference in Dubai. The motion was put forward by Sara Harrel, vice-president, Escoffier Society of Toronto.

Ladner, B.C.-based chef, Bruno Martin, who was named chairman of the newly formed CCFCC Honour Society and is chairman of CCFCC, had another reason for being proud — his 30-year-old restaurant, La Belle Auberge was Top Listed by the 2010 Zagat Guide in three categories — food, french and service. Located in a 1905 Victorian heritage house tucked away in the Ladner countryside some 25 miles from downtown Vancouver, La Belle Auberge beat out such big-city favourites as Vij’s, Cioppino’s, Le Crocodile and Georges.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.