Government of Canada Extends Travel Restrictions


OTTAWA — The Government of Canada is extending the temporary travel measures restricting entry into Canada by foreign nationals until June 21, 2021.

The government is also extending the requirement for air passengers who depart India or Pakistan to Canada, via an indirect route, to obtain a COVID-19 pre-departure test from a third country before continuing their journey to Canada.

“As the number of COVID-19 cases remain disproportionally high in India and Pakistan, we have extended our flight restrictions and third-country pre-departure testing requirements for these countries. These ongoing measures are in place to help protect Canadians and manage the elevated risk of imported cases of COVID-19 and variants of concern into Canada during a time of increasing pressure on our healthcare system,” says the Honourable Omar Alghabra, Minister of Transport.

Canada’s approach to border management includes entry and flight restrictions; mandatory pre-arrival, on-arrival and post-arrival testing requirements; mandatory hotel stopover for air travellers; and mandatory 14-day quarantine for travellers. The Government of Canada is also extending those measures to protect the health and safety of Canadians.

“We’re extending the testing and quarantine measures at the border because they protect Canadians. As our healthcare system grapples with the third wave of the pandemic, our government will continue to adjust its response to COVID-19. I encourage all Canadians to get vaccinated when it’s their turn, and to keep following local public-health measures,” says The Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Health.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.