Winners Shine at KML’s Annual Pinnacle Awards Gala in Toronto


TORONTO — More than 400 hospitality-industry professionals gathered last week to celebrate this year’s winners of KML’s Pinnacle Awards. Known as the “Oscars of the industry,” the 32nd-annual Pinnacle Awards — held at the iconic Fairmont Royal York in Toronto — honoured companies and individuals who are impacting the Canadian foodservice and hospitality industry.

“I can’t tell you how delighted we are to be back on this stage after a very dark two years — to shine a light on excellence and honour our very deserving 2021 Pinnacle Award winners, who have certainly earned their place among this prestigious group of industry giants,” said Rosanna Caira, editor and publisher, Kostuch Media Limited, who co-hosted the event with Amy Bostock, managing editor, Kostuch Media Limited.

The event — which was held with strict COVID-19 protocols in place — featured a gourmet lunch prepared by the Royal York’s executive chef JW Foster and his culinary brigade.

Following words of welcome from the event’s Gold Sponsor, Iven Zanardo, GM, Foodservice, Ingredients and Export at Lactalis Canada, the awards portion of the day — featuring video tributes to each winner — began.

Vaughan, Ont.-based Recipe Unlimited was F&H’s Company of the Year, while Silver Hotel Group, based in Mississauga, Ont., accepted the award for Hotelier’s Company of the Year.

Other category winners for Foodservice and Hospitality included Ghost Kitchen Brands for Regional Company of the Year; John Sinopoli and Erik Joyal, co-founders of the Ascari Hospitality Group as Independent Restaurateurs of the Year; and Sysco Canada for Supplier of the Year.

On the hotel side, Hotelier of the Year honours went to Anne Marie Johns, general manager of the Fairmont Tremblant, while the Supplier of the Year award for Hotelier magazine was presented to Susie Grynol, president, Hotel Association of Canada.

Since launching the first award in 1988, Foodservice and Hospitality has honoured a diverse group of leaders for their continued success and achievements, representing every facet of the industry, from upscale restaurants to quick-service chains. Each of this year’s winners are distinguished for their contributions to the image of the industry through civic, educational and community involvement, as well as their efforts in establishing innovative concepts in foodservice or hotel management. Past winners include George Cohon of McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada Ltd., The TDL Group, Starbucks Canada and Four Seasons Hotels founder, Isadore Sharp. Hotelier magazine’s first annual Hotelier of the Year award, representing similar achievement in the hotel industry, was presented in 1994 to hotel executives Robert DeMone, Canadian Pacific Hotels & Resorts; Michael Beckley, Commonwealth Hospitality; and Simon Cooper, Delta Hotels & Resorts.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.